I grew up with the Internet.

I remember when the Internet was in its infancy when I was younger, I remember having to log on using a dial up connection that took over the phone line and I remember when wireless Internet came to be. My first experience with social media was with AIM. I never jumped on the MySpace bandwagon when that came out, but I did create a Facebook account when I was a senior in high school. On your Facebook page, you put information about your life on there. You reveal what your interests are, what you are studying, where you attend school or work and who your friends are. How can people expect a lot of privacy when what they are voluntarily placing personal information online? Do people have the right to be upset that advertisers are using information from Facebook to target certain audiences? Can personal photos still get you in trouble with employers if they too are jumping on the social media bandwagon?

With younger generations not knowing a world without social media, their views on privacy is most likely different from those of earlier generations. Younger people are growing up in a world where people put their live out onto cyberspace. Some parents are now documenting their baby’s first years online for all to see. Now Facebook is the new baby book. Have the lines between what is public and what is private blurred? I think it has. I also think that people can’t get so upset over privacy issues when they themselves are so willing to put themselves out there in the first place. I am curious to see how the future will adapt to newer social networking sites. Are you handing over your right to privacy when you create a Facebook account?

